COUNTY OF HILLSDALE, MICHIGAN

Welcome banner
Text Size

Michigan Real Estate Transfer Tax Code

MCL 207.504 Sec. 4 (County)

MCL 207.525 Sec. 5 (State)

 

Michigan Real Estate Transfer Tax Table (pdf format)

  • A written instrument subject to the tax imposed by MCL 207.504 Section 4 and MCL 207.525 Section 5 shall state on its face the TOTAL CONSIDERATION of the real property, or a Real Estate Transfer Valuation Affidavit disclosing the total consideration shall be filed at the time the instrument is presented for recording (See above named acts for details).
  • No filing fee is charged for the filing of the "Real Estate Transfer Valuation Affidavit", but a statement must be made on the face of the instrument that a real estate transfer valuation affidavit is being filed.
  • Transfer tax imposed by each act shall be collected unless said instrument of transfer is exempt from either or both acts. Any exemptions to the above named acts must be stated on the face of the instrument presented for recording.
  • The tax shall be upon the person who is the seller or the grantor.
  • In case of an exchange of two properties, the deeds transferring title to each are subject to Michigan Real Estate Transfer tax, and in each case shall be computed on the basis of the actual value of the property conveyed.
  • Documentary stamps shall be purchased only in the county in which the property is located.
  • Conveyances affecting property situated in more than one county must state the portion of the sale price attributable to each parcel lying in the separate counties and transfer tax must be paid to each county for that portion of the sale price.
  • An instrument of foreclosure is subject to transfer tax based on the sale price stated on the face of the instrument.
  • A conveyance of an easement or a right of way is subject to transfer tax.
  • If the value of the real estate transferred is $100 or more, payment of State and County transfer tax is required.

 

Rate of County tax - $.55 for each $500 or fraction thereof

Rate of State tax - $3.75 for each $500 or fraction thereof

 County Building 200 x 150

Register of Deeds

Hillsdale County Office Building
33 McCollum St.
Room 205
Hillsdale, MI 49242

Monday-Friday
8:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m.

(517) 437-2231

Holidays / Closures

Transfer Tax Calculator

Sale Price
Enter the sale price with no commas or dollar signs
County Tax
Rate of County tax is $.55 for each $500 or fraction thereof
State Tax
Rate of State tax is $3.75 for each $500 or fraction thereof
Calculate

Notary Update

MI SOS Approved Electronic & Remote Notarization Vendors

Michigan amended its notary law in 2018 to be in line with other states that have authorized electronic and remote notarizations.

Their use is optional and no action is needed on your part to continue performing traditional pen and paper notarizations.
E-Mortgage Law – Offers electronic notarizations services
Nexsys – Offers both electronic and remote notarization services
Pavaso – Offers both electronic and remote notarization services
NotaryCam - Offers both electronic and remote notarization services
Notarize - Offers electronic and remote notarization services
Only approved vendor systems can be used in the state of Michigan. A Notary wishing to provide these services must use the vendors above. Use this Guide to help to understand the new options, how to update commission information and how the work of Notaries is affected.
Note: The MI Department of State does not provide access, training or dictate costs of these newly approved systems.